The Skinny: June Edition

I’ve been pretty quiet on here over the past couple of months. I’ve taken this time to slow down and absorb everything that’s been happening. I’ve researched. I’ve watched. I’ve educated myself on the injustices occuring in this country and the history of the systemic racism that has existed in this country for hundreds of years. I’ve done my part (as much as I can) to contribute to the fight. It still doesn’t feel like enough, but we can only do our best.

I really haven’t been purchasing much other than PPE and things of the like. I’ve mostly been planning out what I want to purchase for my upcoming home purchase. Lots of time has been spent planning out my finances and my purchases to be able to buy a house next year. I also purchased a Little Fiddle (mini version of the Fiddle Leaf Fig) and need to repot it soon, so I’ve been looking into what I can purchase do that.

It may be a boring post this time around, but I think my time can be spent in much more effective ways right now. Online shopping has definitely not been my priority and I do not want to take away from the movements taking place for change. In the interest of this blog, though, I do want to try to maintain a semi-normal schedule (if “normal” is even a thing anymore..)

  1. West Elm Stella Bed – One of the main things I don’t have is a bed. I know, weird. I have about everything else you can think of. But a bed and a mattress are not one of those things. I’ve been in love with this bed for years and I finally want to take the plunge. I’m going to wait for a great sale, of course, but this is THE bed. It may be a while before I can actually buy it, but it will happen.
  2. West Elm Industrial Coffee Table – I alreay have a coffee table and matching end tables, but I’m kind of over them. They’re too “matchy matchy” and they don’t really fit into my style anymore. I stayed with my best friend at her house for a weekend and fell in love with her coffee table; it has a split top that lifts. It makes it much easier to use a computer while sitting on the couch (hello, easier photo editing) and it also allows you to stow away the unsightly coffee table clutter (i.e. remotes, cords etc). This one goes with everything I have without being too matchy. With it also being pricey, I will purchase this at the same time as my bed with a coupon so I get the most bang for my buck. Pier 1 is officially closing so I guess I’m a West Elm girl now…
  3. Fiddle Fig soil & fertilizer – I’m still a semi-new plant mom. I’ve had my donkey’s tail succulent named Henry for over two years now (and he’s thriving!) but I wanted to expand my house plant family. I purchased a Little Fiddle a couple of months ago. The information I had gathered on these plants is that they grow rather slowly, so I wasn’t expecting to have to repot it within the first year. However, this lil’ guy loves his new home and has grown a tremendous amount, so I need to repot him. Believe it or not, there’s specific soil and fertilizer that’s suitable for Fiddle Leaf plants so I’m going to bite the bullet and purchase both so when I repot him, I give him the very best chance. I haven’t found a fitting name yet, but I’m sure it’ll come to me soon!
  4. Plant pot/stand – The current pot that the Little Fiddle lives in is 6 inches in diameter. You don’t want to get something too big when you repot because it can shock the plant and cause it to die. I’m planning on getting a 10 inch diameter pot with a bamboo stand to put it in. I found these both on Amazon and in the plant world, the price point isn’t too bad. I have a beautiful West Elm planter on a stand that is in need of a resident, however it’s too big for my Little Fiddle. I’ll have to go plant shopping again, bummer! 😉
  5. Haws watering can/plant mister – I wanted a small watering can that I could keep in my bedroom for my weekly watering. I also wanted to purchase a plant mister; Fiddle Leaf Figs like their leaves wiped down and misted because they thrive in humid climates. The leaf misting makes their enviornment feel more humid. I’ve always loved Hawes products, but it’s not the easiest to get your hands on them in the US. I was able to snag them from Terrain and I’m so happy with them! It’s definitely something that can be passed down for generations to come.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for the month of June. In a few short days, I’ll be 25, so I very well may have my quarter-life crisis. We’ll see, but I can’t believe we are over halfway through this year. It’s funny how it feels as though time has crawled by due to COVID-19, but at the same time, it’s flying.

Catch you next time…

 

 


Leave a comment